Travel trade and press Webcams 23°
-/+
My road book

Nice Côte d'Azur Metropolitan Convention and Visitors Bureau

X Book your stay Book
 
 
 
 
 
30 April 2021
A few years ago, Nice, like other cities throughout France and the world, tried to get rid of tags. Today, graffiti are real works of art created by recognized artists or by virtuoso graffiti artists. Mural paintings are even commissioned by the municipality to chase the grey out of the city and to bring art closer to the general public.

After its underground beginnings in the 1980s, street art has developed worldwide and has been recognised as an art form in its own right with artists such as Basquiat and Keith Haring at the origin of the movement as well as Banksy (the most recognised) followed by Kaws (mixing pop culture and street art), Shepard Fairy (Obey), Bordalo (street art from recycled waste), Mobstr (committed artist), Stik, Jonone... On a national level, we find JR and Invader, Bando (the one who brought graffiti to France from the USA), Jef Aerosol (the first one), C215 (stencil specialist), Miss. Tic, Mr Shiz, Mr Brainwash, Blek le Rat, Speedy Graphito, Roti...

In Nice, the policy for street art took a new turn about 3 years ago, on the initiative of the deputy for culture, Mr Robert Roux, who is passionate about street art, urban art and contemporary art. The latter has mobilised the talents of the excellent graffiti artist from Nice, Thomas Debatisse, alias Otom, who also brings together many other graffiti artists in his wake, notably via his association specialising in urban culture (graffiti, bmx, music, dance, etc.), "Whole Street", which has more than 15 artists.

1 - The pioneer and founding father of street art: Ernest Pignon-Ernest from Nice !

If there is one artist who is known and appreciated worldwide in the field of street art, it is Ernest Pignon-Ernest! Born in Nice in 1942 and working in Paris, he is indeed considered the precursor of urban art in France and today an essential and popular figure of the national art scene.

Often described as a humanist, a rebel and a committed artist, he became famous in the 1960s for his wild posters in the streets of Paris. Even today, he remains an insatiable artist in his desire to display on the walls the "violence inflicted on men". His works are generally done in charcoal or black stone. Some of his works, such as the "Fusillés de la Commune" or the "Rimbaud vagabond" reproduced in thousands of copies, have become true icons of modern times.

For fifty years now, Ernest Pignon-Ernest has been stigmatising, with force and poetry, full-scale bodies, worked from live models, and displaying them in the streets of the world! (Photo opposite: @Official Ernest Pignons-Ernest website).

Even if there are no graffiti works by him on the walls of Nice, we couldn't start this topic on street-art without mentioning the great international master of urban art! You can nevertheless appreciate his immense talent in the Garibaldi tramway station where an imposing sculpture, signed Ernest Pignon-Ernest, sits majestically. The work is entitled "Pépin, la déesse et la mer" and reflects the rich history of Nice. It is a representation of the goddess Niké (from whom the city of Nice takes its name), inspired by the Victory of Samothrace exhibited in the Louvre. On the shoulder of the goddess, the young Joseph Garibaldi, dressed as a sinner, looks down on passers-by and travellers. Behind the work, screens broadcast a live image of the exit from the port.

In 2016, the Musée d'Art Moderne et d'Art Contemporain (MAMAC) in Nice devoted an exhibition to Ernest Pignon-Ernest, whose retrospective can be viewed online.

Find out more about the artist at https://pignon-ernest.com/ or on the MAMAC website

 

2 - Gaïa et ses papillons

« Gaïa et ses papillons » have been contemplating walkers and motorists since December 2017, under the Fabron bridge, opposite the exit of the Voie Mathis.
fb@otomartist

This superb representation of the goddess of Greek mythology offers a reflection on the environment, reflecting the ecological concerns of its author. Surrounded by butterflies and wearing a crown of flowers, the beautiful Gaïa smiles at life and brings colour and joy to this busy street, a stone's throw from the Promenade des Anglais.

Half pop culture, half comic book, this first permanent and legal street-art fresco in Nice was commissioned by the city and is the work of the Nice graffiti virtuoso Otom. The territorial departments of the city of Nice have a participatory budget intended to improve the living environment of the inhabitants of the district. The Territory Directorate and the Bas Fabron neighbourhood committee hope that in 2021 other works will be created so that all the spaces not yet graffitied in this tunnel will be.

 

3 - Ambiance ta ville ! The free expression wall

The result of a promise made to young people by the Mayor of Nice, Christian Estrosi, the free expression wall of the XVth Corps, near the Acropolis Congress Centre, allows graffiti artists to express themselves according to their desires.
@OTMNCA / JM

The inauguration of this wall represents a historic moment for Nice's urban art, as it is the first time that Nice has hosted a wall in the city centre, free to all artists wishing to express themselves. For the occasion, Debza, a graffiti artist from Toulouse, renowned for his inimitable style of lettering inspired by Japanese manga, and Ernesto Novo, a Nice native living in exile in Paris, came to collaborate with local stars (Otom, Brian Caddy, Chika, Guitou Top Gun, César M., Faben, Dzio, Wanjah, Artmakeroneright, to produce a fresco of more than 70m long.

Open to all, this space will be constantly evolving. The works can be covered and replaced by others at any time. Thus, at the time of writing, the collective fresco created by 11 artists from the "Whole Street" association - who have been entrusted with the artistic development of this wall - is already different from the one presented at the inauguration of this wall on 31 January 2021 (see video below).

When you will have the leisure to pass in these places, you will certainly discover something else than what I was able to photograph at the end of March 2021 (see photos opposite and on the cover)... Never frozen, always in movement, this wall of expression aims at embellishing the district while letting the youth and art express themselves ! A success !

 

Focus on Whole Street

The association was created in 2015 by Otom and Faben, two street artists from Nice and is dedicated to the development of street art on the French Riviera. Its aim is to transmit the Graffiti culture on this territory by proposing, in particular, services such as Graffiti initiations, murals or live painting.

For these two talented graffiti artists, the adventure began with a partnership with the City of Nice, which wanted to embellish the fences of the second tramway line.

Local graffiti artists such as Sacrifice, Weal, El Fantasma, Guilaine, Brian Caddy, Otom, Faben, Moustache Bleue, Moya, Desset, Dzio, Nasica, Wolf as well as international artists such as Etnik, Pleks, CIB... were able to express their talent on these supports, which have now been removed.

Since then, the partnerships with the town hall have been brilliant.

https://wholestreetasso.fr/

https://www.facebook.com/Whole-Street-576758269133911/

 

4 - The urban culture centre "Le 109

A real open-air gallery is now available to street art lovers at "109"!
@Patricia R 2020

Part of the interior wall of the "109", a new 2-hectare urban culture centre, was made available to 20 graffiti artists by the City of Nice. Numerous creations have been set up, reflecting the diversity and richness of Nice's graffiti artists:  the 20 street artists present on the walls of the 109 : annabelle tattu - otom - francois nasica - brian caddy - antonia schmid - romain bagriot - murielle tisserand - patrick moya - julien hayot - faben - el fantasma - chika - crash - antony alberti - jeremy besset - florence fabris - 2-934 - kotek - hierro - jb

The outdoor wall in rue Chapel should be inaugurated in "free expression" mode by the summer of 2021, as part of the annual "Eclairage Public" event. A project for a place dedicated to street art is also currently under consideration, within this same pole. This will satisfy both residents and artists !

 

5 - The looks of the Tunnel Durante

The tunnel of the Nice Centre SNCF station has been enhanced with funding from the territorial council.
@Frantz Bouton

Of the various proposals made by Otom (him again!), it is the "Regards" proposal that has been chosen by the City of Nice. With a dimension of 220 metres long and 2 metres high (i.e. 440m2), this fresco is the biggest one the artist has done to date. It presents the portrait of 12 Nice men and women, from different cultures and backgrounds.

The work has embellished the walls of this underground structure, bringing more humanity, joy and colour to passers-by and motorists. "We start with the look of a newborn baby and end with the look of someone almost a hundred years old. There is a banker, an artist, a homeless person, strangers and famous people... Real people, real people from Nice. The message is very simple: we are all different, and yet we live together"... says Otom.

Once again, I say, hats off to the artist !

 

6 - Sport in the spotlight under the Allianz Riviera stadium tunnel

The city of Nice wanted to take advantage of the passage of the Tour de France in 2020 to highlight, in an artistic way, the Nice football club, OGC Nice, whose matches take place at the Allianz Riviera stadium in the west of the city.
@OTMNCA / JM

For this commission from the city, 6 artists worked in the tunnel next to the stadium, Boulevard des Jardiniers, under the A8 motorway bridge : Otom, Ernesto Novo, Chika, César, Kotek, Dzio. The Allianz group helped finance these works of art. One side of the tunnel is dedicated to OGC Nice, the other will keep a trace of the Tour de France's passage !

Other photos can be found on the Nice club's website : https://www.ogcnice.com/fr/actualite/40420/le-gym-et-le-tour-de-france-en-peinture

 

 

7 - The facades of the Puces de Nice dressed by artists

In 2017, the Mayor Christian Estrosi, along with his deputy for Culture Robert Roux, wanted to install panels on the outside facades of the Puces de Nice to allow artists to display their creativity for all to see.

From April 4th to June 1st 2021, discover the work of the artist Catherine Caroff during a stroll at the Nice Flea Market, at the Quai Lunel in the Port district (respecting the barrier gestures and wearing a mask is compulsory).

Catherine Caroff has created a little character, "Ma petite Niçoise by Cat Caroff", a registered trademark at the INPI. With her typical little costume, this character combines the traditional side with the modernity of today's world. The artist wanted her to be cute, lively, in tune with her city, endearing, a little clumsy, sometimes naïve, but with humour, a sense of humour, in short character! A little guide to life, an ambassador, she will wander around Nice and tell her life story in emblematic places, get involved in events such as the Carnival, discuss culinary specialities such as pan bagnat, socca, etc. She will also go on adventures, on trips...


After June 1st, another artist will be honoured... Who? mystery, we are not yet in the secret...

 

You will have understood. In Nice, art is in the museums but not only! Art invites itself to the eyes of the passers-by, art is democratized. Street art has found its letters of nobility and illuminates the daily life of the inhabitants and walkers. As you walk along, you may see other works than those presented in this article. I am thinking in particular of the "Angel Wings" painted on the wall of a "Fit & Eat" establishment in Barralis Street. Take a selfie with the angel wings on your back...

I'll let you find these creative and original nuggets as you wander around the beautiful city of Nice, which I love. I hope you will also enjoy discovering or rediscovering Nice from a "street art" angle.

Did you like this article? Discover others in our Travel Blog.

 
CThis article is brought to you by Joëlle, from the Nice Côte d'Azur Metropolitan Tourist Office, in close collaboration with Robert Roux, Deputy for Culture and Romain Vigna, Project Manager for Culture and Heritage.

Espace Pro/Presse Webcams 19°
-/+
Mon carnet de voyage

OFFICE DE TOURISME MÉTROPOLITAIN NICE CÔTE D'AZUR

X Réserver votre séjour Réservez
 
 
 
 
 
30 avril 2021
Il y a quelques années, Nice, comme les autres villes partout en France et dans le monde, faisait la chasse aux tags. Aujourd’hui, les graffitis sont de véritables œuvres d’art réalisées par des artistes reconnus ou par des graffeurs virtuoses. Des fresques murales sont même commandés par la municipalité pour chasser le gris de la ville et pour rapprocher l’art du grand public.

Après des débuts underground dans les années 80, le street art a connu un développement mondial et une reconnaissance comme un art à part entière avec des artistes comme Basquiat et Keith Haring à l’origine du mouvement ainsi que Banksy (le plus reconnu) suivis de Kaws (mêlant culture pop et street art), Shepard Fairy (Obey), Bordalo (street art à partir de déchets recyclés), Mobstr (artiste engagé), Stik, Jonone… Au niveau national, on retrouve JR et Invader, Bando (celui qui a fait venir le graff en France depuis les USA), Jef Aerosol (le premier), C215 (spécialiste du pochoir), Miss. Tic, Mr Shiz, Mr Brainwash, Blek le Rat, Speedy Graphito, Roti…

A Nice, la politique pour le street art a pris un nouvel essor il y a environ 3 ans, à l’initiative de l’adjoint à la culture, Monsieur Robert Roux, passionné de street art, d’art urbain et d’art contemporain. Ce dernier a mobilisé les talents de l’excellent graffeur Niçois, Thomas Debatisse alias Otom qui rassemble, en outre, de nombreux autres artistes graffeurs dans son sillage notamment via son association spécialisée en culture urbaine (graff, bmx, musique, danse…), « Whole Street » qui compte plus de 15 artistes.

1 - Le pionnier et père fondateur du street art : Ernest Pignon-Ernest , un niçois !

S’il est un artiste mondialement connu et apprécié dans le domaine du street-art, c’est bien Ernest Pignon-Ernest ! Né à Nice en 1942 et travaillant à Paris, il est en effet considéré comme le précurseur de l’art urbain en France et aujourd’hui une figure incontournable et populaire de la scène artistique nationale.

Souvent décrit comme un humaniste, un rebelle et un artiste engagé, il s’est illustré, dès les années 60, par ses affichages sauvages dans les rues de Paris. Aujourd’hui encore, il reste un artiste insatiable dans son désir de placarder sur les murs les « violences qu’on inflige aux hommes ». Ses œuvres sont en général réalisées au fusain ou à la pierre noire. Certaines de ses réalisations, comme les « Fusillés de la Commune » ou le « Rimbaud vagabond » reproduit à des milliers d’exemplaires, sont devenues de véritables icônes des temps modernes. 

Cela fait maintenant cinquante ans, qu'Ernest Pignon-Ernest stigmatise, avec force et poésie, des corps à échelle réelle, travaillés d’après des modèles vivants et les affiche dans les rues du monde entier !  (Photo ci-contre : @Site officiel Ernest Pignons-Ernest).

Même s'il n'y a aucun graff de lui sur les murs de Nice, nous ne pouvions démarrer ce sujet sur le street-art sans évoquer le grand maître international de l'art urbain ! Vous pourrez néanmoins apprécier son immense talent dans la station de tramway Garibaldi où une imposante sculpture, signée Ernest Pignon-Ernest, trône majestueusement. L'oeuvre s'intitule "Pépin, la déesse et la mer" et reflète la riche histoire de Nice. Il s'agit là d'une représentation de la déesse Niké (dont la ville de Nice tire son nom), inspirée de la Victoire de Samothrace exposée au Louvre. Sur l'épaule de la déesse, le jeune Joseph Garibaldi en tenue de pécheur toise, de son regard, les passants et les voyageurs. Derrière l'oeuvre, des écrans diffusent, en direct, une image de la sortie du port.

Le Musée d'Art Moderne et d'Art Contemporain (MAMAC) de Nice a consacré, en 2016, une exposition à Ernest Pignon-Ernest dont la rétrospective est consultable en ligne.

Poursuivez la découverte sur l'artiste : https://pignon-ernest.com/  ou sur le site du MAMAC

 

2- Gaïa et ses papillons

« Gaïa et ses papillons » contemplent les promeneurs et les automobilistes depuis décembre 2017, sous le pont de Fabron, face à la sortie de la Voie Mathis.
fb@otomartist

Cette superbe représentation de la déesse de la mythologie grecque offre ici une réflexion sur l’environnement, reflétant les préoccupations écologiques de son auteur. Entourée de papillons et coiffée d’une couronne de fleurs, la belle Gaïa sourit à la vie et apporte couleurs et gaieté à cette rue très passante, à deux pas de la Promenade des Anglais.

Moitié Pop culture, moitié BD, cette première fresque de street-art pérenne et légale de Nice est une commande de la Ville et l’œuvre du graffeur niçois virtuose Otom. Les directions de territoire de la ville de Nice possèdent en effet un budget participatif destiné à améliorer le cadre de vie des habitants du quartier. La Direction du Territoire et le comité de quartier du bas Fabron souhaitent, qu’en 2021, d’autres œuvres soient créées pour que tous les espaces non encore graffés dans ce tunnel le soient.

 

3 - Ambiance ta ville ! Le mur d’expression libre

Résultant d’une promesse du Maire de Nice, Christian Estrosi, faite aux jeunes, le mur d’expression libre du XVème Corps, près du Palais des Congrès Acropolis, permet aux graffeurs de s’exprimer au gré de leurs envies.
@OTMNCA / JM

L'inauguration de ce mur représente un moment historique pour l’art urbain niçois, puisque c’est la première fois que Nice accueille un mur en plein centre-ville, libre d’accès à tous les artistes désirant s’exprimer. Pour l’occasion, Debza, graffeur de Toulouse, réputé pour son style de lettre inimitable inspiré des mangas japonais, et Ernesto Novo, Niçois exilé à Paris, sont venus collaborer avec les têtes d’affiches locales (Otom, Brian Caddy, Chika, Guitou Top Gun, César M., Faben, Dzio, Wanjah, Artmakeroneright, pour produire une fresque de plus de 70m de long.

Ouvert à tous, cet espace est amené à évoluer en permanence. Les œuvres peuvent être recouvertes et remplacées par d’autres, à tout moment. Ainsi, à l’heure où nous rédigeons cet article, la fresque collective réalisée par 11 artistes de l’association "Whole Street" à qui a été confiée l’aménagement artistique de ce mur – est déjà différente de celle présentée lors de l’inauguration de ce mur, le 31 janvier 2021 (voir vidéo ci-dessous).

Quand vous aurez le loisir de passer en ces lieux, vous y découvrirez certainement autre chose que ce que j’ai pu photographier en cette fin du mois de mars 2021 (voir photos ci-contre et de couverture)… Jamais figé, toujours en mouvement, ce mur d’expression a pour but d’embellir le quartier tout en laissant la jeunesse et l’art s’exprimer ! Une réussite !

 

Focus sur Whole Street

L’association créée en 2015 par Otom et Faben, deux street artistes niçois et dédiée au développement du street art sur la Côte d’Azur. Son but est de transmettre la culture Graffiti sur ce territoire en proposant, notamment, des prestations telles que des initiations Graffiti, des fresques murales ou encore du live painting.

Pour ces deux graffeurs de talent, l'aventure a démarré lors d'un partenariat avec la Ville de Nice, désireuse d'embellir les palissades des travaux de la deuxième ligne du tramway.

Des artistes graffeurs locaux comme Sacrifice, Weal, El Fantasma, Guilaine, Brian Caddy, Otom, Faben, Moustache Bleue, Moya, Desset, Dzio, Nasica, Wolf ainsi que des artistes internationaux comme Etnik, Pleks, CIB… avaient pu exprimer leur talent sur ces supports, aujourd'hui retirés.

Depuis, les partenariats avec la mairie s'enchainent avec brio.

https://wholestreetasso.fr/

https://www.facebook.com/Whole-Street-576758269133911/

 

4 - Le pôle de cultures urbaines "Le 109"

Une véritable galerie à ciel ouvert est désormais accessible aux amateurs de street art au "109" !
@Patricia R 2020

Une partie du mur d’enceinte intérieur du "109", nouveau pôle des cultures urbaines sur 2 hectares, a été mis à disposition de 20 artistes graffeurs par la Ville de Nice. Ainsi de nombreuses créations ont pu y voir le jour rendant compte de la diversité et la richesse des artistes graffeurs Niçois : les 20 street artistes présents sur les murs du 109 : annabelle tattu – otom – francois nasica – brian caddy – antonia schmid – romain bagriot – murielle tisserand – patrick moya – julien hayot – faben – el fantasma – chika – crash – antony alberti – jeremy besset – florence fabris – 2-934 – kotek – hierro – jb

Le mur extérieur situé rue Chapel, devrait quant à lui, être inauguré en mode "expression libre" d'ici l'été 2021, dans le cadre de l’événement annuel « Eclairage Public ». Un projet de lieu dédié au street art est également actuellement en réflexion, au sein de ce même pôle. De quoi satisfaire à la fois les habitants et les artistes !

 

5 - Les regards du Tunnel Durante

Le tunnel de la gare SNCF Nice Centre a pu être mis en valeur avec un financement du conseil de territoire.
@Frantz Bouton

Sur les différentes propositions de Otom (encore lui !), c’est celle des « Regards » qui a été retenue par la Ville de Nice. D’une dimension de 220 mètres de long et 2 mètres de hauteur (soit 440m2), cette fresque est la plus grande réalisée par l’artiste à ce jour. Elle présente le portrait de 12 Niçois et Niçoises, issus de cultures et d’horizons différents.

La réalisation a embelli les murs de cet ouvrage souterrain, apportant plus d'humanité, de gaieté et de couleurs aux passants et automobilistes. "On commence par le regard d'un nouveau-né et on termine par celui de quelqu'un prèsque centenaire. Il y a un banquier, un artiste, un SDF, des inconnus et des plus connus... De vraies gens, de vrais Niçois. Le message est très simple : on est tous différents, et pourtant, on vit ensemble"... précise Otom.

Une nouvelle fois, je dis, chapeau, l'artiste !

 

6 - Le sport à l'honneur sous le tunnel du stade Allianz Riviera

La ville de Nice a souhaité profiter du passage du Tour de France en 2020 pour mettre en lumière, de manière artistique, le club de football Niçois, l’OGC Nice dont les matchs se déroulent au stade Allianz Riviera, à l'ouest de la ville.
@OTMNCA / JM

Pour cette commande de la Ville, 6 artistes sont intervenus dans le tunnel jouxtant le stade, Boulevard des Jardiniers sous le pont de l’autoroute A8 : Otom, Ernesto Novo, Chika, César, Kotek, Dzio. Le groupe Allianz a participé au financement de ces œuvres d’art. Un côté du tunnel est dédié à l’OGC Nice, l’autre gardera en héritage une trace du passage du Tour de France !

D'autres photos sont à découvrir sur le site du club niçois : https://www.ogcnice.com/fr/actualite/40420/le-gym-et-le-tour-de-france-en-peinture

 

 

7 - Les façades des Puces de Nice habillées par des artistes

En 2017, le Maire Christian Estrosi, aux côtés de son adjoint à la Culture Robert Roux, a souhaité installer des panneaux sur les façades extérieures des Puces de Nice pour permettre aux artistes d’exposer leur créativité à la vue de tous.

Du 4 avril au 1er juin 2021, découvrez ainsi l’œuvre de l’artiste Catherine Caroff au détour d’une promenade aux Puces de Nice, au Quai Lunel dans le quartier du Port (respect des gestes barrières et port du masque obligatoire).

Catherine Caroff a créé un petit personnage, "Ma petite Niçoise by Cat Caroff", marque déposée à l’INPI.  Avec son petit costume typique, ce personnage allie le côté traditionnel à la modernité du monde actuel. L’artiste l’a voulue mignonne, vive, bien dans sa ville, attachante, un peu maladroite, quelquefois naïve, mais avec de l’humour, du second degré, bref du caractère ! Petit guide fraîcheur de vivre, ambassadrice, elle va déambuler dans Nice et raconter sa vie sur des lieux emblématiques, s’impliquer dans des événements comme le Carnaval, discuter autour des spécialités culinaires comme le pan bagnat, la socca, etc. Elle partira aussi à l’aventure, en voyage…


Après le 1er juin, un autre artiste sera mis à l'honneur... Qui ? Mystère, nous ne sommes pas encore dans le secret...

 

Vous l'aurez compris. A Nice, l'art est dans les musées mais pas seulement ! L'art  s'invite aux regards des passants, l'art se démocratise. Le Street Art trouve ses lettres de noblesse et illumine le quotidien des habitants et des promeneurs. Au hasard de vos pas, vous verrez peut-être d'autres oeuvres que celles présentées dans cet article. Je pense notamment aux "Angel Wings" peintes sur le mur d'un établissement "Fit & Eat" de la rue Barralis.  Prenez-vous en selfie, les ailes d'ange dans le dos...

Je vous laisse trouver ces pépites créatives et originiales au gré de vos déambulations dans la très belle ville de Nice que j'affectionne. J'espère que vous aurez, vous aussi, plaisir à découvrir ou à redécouvrir Nice sous un angle 'Street art".

Cet article vous a plu ? Découvrez-en d'autres dans notre Blog Voyage.

 
Cet article vous est proposé par Joëlle, de l'Office de Tourisme Métropolitain Nice Côte d'Azur, en collaboration étroite avec Robert Roux, Adjoint à la Culture et de Romain Vigna, Chef de Projet DGA Culture et Patrimoine.