Travel trade and press Webcams 14°
-/+
My road book

Nice Côte d'Azur Metropolitan Convention and Visitors Bureau

X Book your stay Book
 
 
 
 
 
16 October 2020
Nice offers an extraordinary architectural palette covering all trends and ages. From the inter-war period, Nice has preserved a priceless heritage of 600 buildings built in the Art Deco style.

The Roaring Twenties... A prolific era that has always fascinated me and that has left its mark on all artistic fields: couture with the elegance of Coco Chanel, dance with the exuberance of Joséphine Baker, music with the frenzy of jazz and Charleston, literature with Francis Scott Fitzgerald and his hero the Great Gatsby, and of course, Art Deco architecture!  A hundred years later, the Roaring Twenties leave us with an impression of great freedom and incredible modernity!

In Nice's architectural heritage, the aesthetics, the pure and geometrical forms, the straight lines and controlled curves, the floral mosaic motifs, the portals and metal and wrought iron are offered to the eyes of passers-by at every street corner. Promenade des Anglais, Quartier des Musiciens, Boulevard Victor Hugo, Rue de France, Boulevard Gambetta, Place Alexandre Médecin or Avenue Saint-Lambert... Everywhere, all we have to do is raise our eyes for the magic to happen!

1 - The emblematic Palais de la Méditerranée

Inaugurated on 10 January 1929 thanks to financing from the American billionaire Franck Jay Gould, the Palais de la Méditerranée was a place of entertainment, pleasure and conviviality, including a casino, a restaurant and a 2,000-seat theatre where many international personalities paraded. It was considered, at the time, as the most sumptuous casino in the world.

Jules Romain wrote "France between the wars produced two masterpieces: the Normandie liner and the Palais de la Méditerranée".

Unfortunately, this did not prevent the destruction of this temple of gambling in 1990. Gone were the imposing entrance hall, the monumental white marble staircase, the enormous windows and stained glass windows, the precious woods, the furniture and the crystal chandeliers. Fortunately, its listed main facade escaped demolition. It now holds the label "20th Century Heritage" and is today the figurehead of the Art Deco movement in Nice.

In 2004, the Palais de La Méditerranée was reborn as a luxury hotel with 187 rooms and suites, managed by the Hyatt Regency brand and a casino operated by the Partouche company. In keeping with the building's history and preserved facade, the interior decoration is also in the Art Deco style, making the whole homogeneous, airy and refined. Beneath the imposing colonnades, a beautiful heated indoor-outdoor swimming pool adds prestige to this mythical place.

But let's come back to this daring white façade punctuated by large arcades. On either side of the building, facing the sea and overlooking one of the most famous avenues in the world, two splendid pediments situated at a good height, bear bas-reliefs of goddesses and horses, forming an elegant ensemble to the glory of Poseidon.

The Palais de la Méditerranée is the most emblematic building on the Promenade des Anglais, and beyond, in Nice (along with the Belle Epoque style Hotel Négresco, of course!). Like every inhabitant of Nice, I contemplate this jewel of architecture with a hint of nostalgia, that of a bygone era of opulence and carelessness, but also with great pride. How beautiful my city is!

Photo Credits: Wilfried Hamel-Raison, OTMNCA H.Lagarde, insta@gaellesimon, insta@hyattregencypalaismed, insta@perfxctworld, insta@yleniacuellar

2 - The very curious church of Saint Joan of Arc

It was in 1933, after 10 years of construction, that this astonishing church was built to the glory of Joan of Arc. Its original and futuristic Art Deco architecture earned it a classification as a Historic Monument. It is also labelled "20th Century Heritage".

Here is a church that does not go unnoticed in the Fuon-Cauda district, in the north of the city. Nicknamed "the meringue", this Catholic church is atypical and unique. It is the fruit of the imagination of the Parisian architect Jacques Droz who created his major work there.

Eleven sugar loaf-shaped concrete domes (3 large and 8 smaller ones) are nested against each other, forming a volume full of curves and curves. The independent, 64-metre-high bell tower, on the other hand, is very pointed and angular, like a candle or an arrow that would like to puncture the sky.

I penetrate inside and discover a nave made up of elliptical semi-circles forming imposing arches. I am surprised to find such a vast space. I learned that it could hold up to 1,500 people. The natural light shines through the many rectangular stained glass windows with abstract motifs. My gaze is inevitably drawn upwards. The sobriety of the place soothes me and touches me deeply.

I walk through the beautiful frescoes painted by the Russian artist Eugène Klementieff, including the one illustrating the Stations of the Cross. The bright colours contrast with the white walls. But you will soon realise that what best characterises this place is much more its architecture than its decorative elements. This church is definitely unlike any other and that is why I thought it was important to present it to you.

Precede or continue this visit with a visit to the Liberation Market (except on Mondays). In the good morning atmosphere of this popular district, you will find fruit and vegetables, flowers, local fishing and small producers from the region, some of them organic. At lunchtime, the terraces of the restaurants and gourmet shops of the Halle de la Gare du Sud invite you to enjoy the moment. Quickly, a break is called for!

Photo Credits: OTM NCA / H.Lagarde

3 - Remarkable residential buildings

The Palladium, Palazzo Hispania, Palazzo Saluzzo, The Forum, The Colosseum, The Mascot, The Rotunda and the Gloria Mansions... Some of these buildings are listed as "Historic Monument" and "20th Century Heritage" and are well worth a visit.

As I said in the preamble, Nice is full of Art Deco nuggets. You will find them all over the city centre, and even in the suburbs. They are very often very imposing residential buildings, made of reinforced concrete, which have brought Nice into the modern era.

On some buildings, the cement has been dyed into the mass with shards of abalone mother-of-pearl which make the light shimmer at different times of the day! On others, coloured mosaics and bas-reliefs contribute to the refinement of the whole. Still others play with perspective, such as these irregular balconies which evoke the undulating waves of the nearby Mediterranean...

I realise how lucky I am to live in a city that has always been able to attract and inspire the greatest artists and the most audacious creators from all fields. Evolving every day in the streets of Nice and constantly marvelling at so much genius and inventiveness...

1
2
3
4
5


1 - Palladium, 2 Bd Tzaréwitch, 75 et 77bis Bd Gambetta
2 - Gloria Mansions, 123-134 Rue de France
3 - Rotonde, 41 Boulevard Gambetta
4 - Bas-relief, Festivities Committee (now Tourist Office), 5 Promenade des Anglais
5 - Bas-relief, Memorial, Port of Nice

Photo Credits: OTM NCA / H.Lagarde, @legestedor.com

 
This article is brought to you by Joëlle of the Nice Côte d'Azur Metropolitan Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Did you like this article? You may also like "Nice, the baroque spirit"?

Espace Pro/Presse Webcams 16°
-/+
Mon carnet de voyage

OFFICE DE TOURISME MÉTROPOLITAIN NICE CÔTE D'AZUR

X Réserver votre séjour Réservez
 
 
 
 
 
16 octobre 2020
Nice propose une extraordinaire palette architecturale qui couvre tous les courants et toutes les âges. De l’entre-deux-guerres, Nice a su préserver un héritage inestimable de 600 édifices construits dans le style Art Déco.

Les années folles... Une époque prolifique qui m'a toujours fascinée tant elle a laissé son empreinte dans tous les domaines artistiques : la couture avec l'élégance de Coco Chanel, la danse avec l'exhubérance de Joséphine Baker, la musique avec la frénésie du jazz et du charleston, la littérature avec Francis Scott Fitzgerald et son héros Gatsby le Magnifique, et bien sûr, l'architecture Art Déco !  Une centaine d'années plus tard, les années folles nous laissent une impression de grande liberté et d'une incroyable modernité !

Dans le patrimoine architectural niçois, l'esthétisme, les formes épurées et géométriques, les ligne droites et les courbes maitrisées, les motifs fleuris en mosaïque, les portails et métal et fer forgé s’offrent aux regards des passants, à tous coins de rue. Promenade des Anglais, Quartier des Musiciens, Boulevard Victor Hugo, Rue de France, Boulevard Gambetta, Place Alexandre Médecin ou encore Avenue Saint-Lambert... Partout, il nous suffit de lever les yeux pour que la magie opère !

1 - L’emblématique Palais de la Méditerranée

Inauguré le 10 janvier 1929 grâce à un financement du milliardaire américain Franck Jay Gould, le Palais de la Méditerranée était un lieu de divertissement, de plaisir et de convivialité, comprenant un casino, un restaurant et un théâtre de 2 000 places où défilèrent de très nombreuses personnalités internationales. Il était considéré, à l’époque, comme le plus somptueux casino du monde.

Jules Romain a écrit " la France de l’entre-deux-guerres a produit deux chefs d’œuvres : le paquebot Normandie et le Palais de la Méditerranée".

Malheureusement, cela n'empêcha pas la destruction de ce temple du jeu en 1990. Exit l'imposant hall d'entrée, l'escalier monumental en marbre blanc, les énormes baies et vitraux, les bois précieux, le mobilier et les lustres de cristal. Par bonheur, sa façade principale classée échappa à la démolition. Celle-ci détient désormais le label « Patrimoine du XXème siècle » et fait aujourd’hui figure de proue du mouvement Art Déco à Nice.

En 2004, le Palais de La Méditerranée renaît sous la forme d’un hôtel de luxe de 187 chambres et suites, géré par l’enseigne Hyatt Regency et d’un casino exploité par la société Partouche. En accord avec l’histoire et la façade préservée du bâtiment, la décoration intérieure est également dans le style Art Déco, rendant le tout homogène, aéré et raffiné. Sous les imposantes colonnades, une très belle piscine intérieure-extérieure chauffée ajoute du prestige à ce lieu mythique.

Mais revenons à cette audacieuse façade blanche rythmée par de grandes arcades. De part et d'autre de l'édifice, face à la mer et surplombant l'une des avenues les plus célèbres du monde, deux splendides frontons situés à belle hauteur, portent des bas-reliefs de déesses et de chevaux, constituant un élégant ensemble à la gloire de Poséïdon.

Le Palais de la Méditerranée est le bâtiment le plus emblématique de la Promenade des Anglais, et au-delà, de Nice (avec l’Hôtel Négresco de style Belle Epoque, bien sûr !). Comme chaque Niçois, je contemple ce fleuron de l'architecture avec une pointe de nostalgie, celle d'une époque d'opulence et d'insouciance révolue, mais aussi avec une très grande fierté. Qu'elle est belle ma ville !

Crédits photos: Wilfried Hamel-Raison, OTMNCA H.Lagarde, insta@gaellesimon, insta@hyattregencypalaismed, insta@perfxctworld, insta@yleniacuellar

2 - La très curieuse église Sainte Jeanne d'Arc

C'est en 1933 et au terme de 10 années de construction que sortit de terre cette étonnante église, à la gloire de Jeanne d'Arc. Son architecture Art Déco originale et futuriste lui a valu un classement au titre des Monuments Historiques. Elle est également labellisée «Patrimoine du XXe siècle».

Voici une église qui ne passe pas inaperçue dans le quartier Fuon-Cauda, au nord de la ville. Surnommée "la meringue", cette église catholique est atypique et unique en son genre. Elle est le fruit de l'imagination de l'architecte parisien Jacques Droz qui réalisa là son oeuvre majeure.

Onze coupoles de béton en forme de pain de sucre (3 grandes et 8 plus petites) sont imbriquées les unes contre les autres, formant un volume plein de courbes et de rondeurs. Le campanile indépendant et haut de 64 mètres est, à l'inverse, très pointu et anguleux, comme un cierge ou une flèche qui voudrait crever le ciel.

Je pénètre à l'intérieur et y découvre une nef constituée de demi-cercles elliptiques formant d'imposantes arches. Je suis surprise d'y trouver un espace aussi vaste. J'ai appris qu'il pouvait contenir jusqu'à 1 500 personnes. La lumière naturelle  perce au travers des nombreux vitraux rectangulaires aux motifs abstraits. Mon regard est inéluctablement attiré vers le haut. La sobriété des lieux m'apaise et me touche profondément.

Je parcours les jolies fresques peintes par l'artiste russe Eugène Klementieff, dont celle qui illustre le chemin de croix. Les couleurs vives contrastent avec les murs blancs. Mais vous l'aurez vite compris, ce qui caractérise le mieux ce lieu, c'est bien plus son architecture que ses éléments décoratifs. Décidément, cette église ne ressemble à aucune autre et c'est bien pour cela qu'il me semblait important de vous la présenter.

Précédez ou poursuivez cette visite par celle du marché de la Libération (sauf le lundi). Dans la bonne ambiance matinale de ce quartier populaire, vous y trouverez des fruits et légumes, des fleurs, de la pêche locale ainsi que des petits producteurs de la région dont certains font du bio. A l'heure du déjeuner, les terrasses des restaurants et des échoppes gourmandes de la Halle de la Gare du Sud m'invitent à profiter de l'instant présent. Vite, une pause s'impose !

Crédits photos : OTM NCA / H.Lagarde

3 - Les immeubles d'habitation remarquables

Le Palladium, le Palais Hispania, le Palais Saluzzo, Le Forum, Le Colisée, La Mascotte, la Rotonde sans oublier le Gloria Mansions... Certains de ces bâtiments sont classés "Monument Historique" et "Patrimoine du XXe siècle et méritent qu'on s'y attarde.

Je vous le disais en préambule, Nice regorge de pépites Art Déco. Vous en trouverez dans tout le centre ville, voire dans les quartiers en périphérie. Il s'agit très souvent d'immeubles résidentiels très imposants, réalisés en béton armé, qui ont fait basculer Nice dans l'ère moderne.

Sur certains édifices, le ciment a été teinté dans la masse avec des éclats de nacre d'ormeaux qui font miroiter la lumière à différentes heures de la journée ! Sur d'autres, des mosaïques colorées et des bas-reliefs participent au raffinement de l'ensemble. D'autres encore jouent avec la perspective, tels ces balcons irréguliers qui évoquent l'ondulation des vagues de la Méditerranée toute proche...

Je me rends compte de la très grande chance que j'ai d'habiter une ville qui, de tout temps, a su attirer et inspirer les plus grands artistes et les créateurs les plus audacieux, tous domaines confondus. Evoluer chaque jour dans les rues de Nice et sans cesse s'émerveiller de tant de génie et d'inventivité...

1
2
3
4
5


1 - Le Palladium, 2 Bd Tzaréwitch, 75 et 77bis Bd Gambetta
2 - Gloria Mansions, 123-134 Rue de France
3 - La Rotonde, 41 Boulevard Gambetta
4 - Bas-relief, Comité des Fêtes (aujourd'hui Office de Tourisme), 5 Promenade des Anglais
5 - Bas relief, Monument aux Morts, Port de Nice

Crédits photos : OTM NCA / H.Lagarde, @legestedor.com

 
Cet article vous est proposé par Joëlle de l'Office de Tourisme Métropolitain Nice Côte d'Azur.

Cet article vous a plu ? Vous aimerez peut-être aussi "Nice, l'esprit du baroque" ?

En savoir plus